Why DEVONthink

Hi All,
I am new to using DEVONthink and have downloaded the DTP trial version to see how well it works for me. I am new to using a document management program and have one very basic question. Why use DEVONthink. The big advantage of DEVONthink seems to be groups and tags. We now have both of these things in Mac OS X. To me it looks like OS X folders are basically groups and tags came along with Mavericks.

What am I missing? What does DEVONthink have that makes so many of you use it so much?

Good questions. Groups resemble folders. But the power of DTPO groups (to me) is the concept of replicants. In some sense, Finder aliases do something comparable. But in DTPO all replicants are equal. In Finder, there is always one original and aliases. You need to treat them differently. That can make a big difference. In DT I have tools to see all replicants. In Finder, I can only find the original from an alias. But neither the original nor aliases can point me towards the other aliases; that’s kind of a dealbreaker. To be honest, if you don’t use filing with replicants, i.e. have only a group hierarchy where each item is exactly in one location, you might not need DTPO (except for using the search, see below).

One of the most powerful features for me in DTPO is searching with the global search window. It seems that Spotlight cannot nearly give me the same level of success. In pdfs, the search terms are highlighted throughout the document. That’s extremely powerful.

On top of that, there are the AI features of DT, which I have not really been able to harness yet, but others do.