wikilinks

1. I’m having a strange problem with wikilinks. I am new to trying them out, so perhaps I am missing something. I have created a new file with the single word I want linked. The links are being created—I see them in my documents just fine. I move the mouse over a linked word and see the correct destination/link in the navigation pane (where the back/forward buttons are located and where links are displayed).

However, when I click on the linked word, the linked file which was correctly listed in the navigation pane does not appear. I get ‘no selection’ in the entry note pane, no file pops up, nothing.

This seems to be happening with some links and not others. I’m able to link up to other words/files in the same entry just fine.

What could cause it to happen that all looks as it should, where I see the correct link displayed, but nothing happens when I actually click the link?

1. A second issue: When pasting in text or with text that is already existent in an entry, sometimes words will automatically show up as linked, which should be since there is a file that has that name, but when I click on it, it creates a new document and does not refer to the already existing file of that name. For example, I have a file titled “Salman Rushdie.” I was pasting in quotes by him with his name at the end of each quote. Some of the resulting new links worked fine and took me to the correct file. Other new links when clicked took me to new files that were created, one for “Salman,” another for “Rushdie,” instead of the already existing “Salman Rushdie” file. I retyped the name Salman Rushdie in these instances and it worked okay. But it is totally random—sometimes the links worked, sometimes they didn’t.

Does this make sense? I’m getting really inconsistent behavior in both of these instances. Any thoughts from the wise ones of the DT forum?

Alexandria