Working with Quotes

Hello all,

I’ve been playing with DevonThink for a while now and understand the rudiments of the program. However, I would now like to begin using the program. I have some thoughts about what I’d like to do in DTP2, that I’ll get to in a moment, but let me first share why.

I plan to use DTP2 to manage a great many quotes both for my PhD diss and for the classes that I’m teaching as well as for the ones that I work as a TA in. In each capacity, I take a great many notes on readings–some electronic, some not. For each reading, I like to have the following information:

1. citation (& weblink if necessary)
  2. background information
  3. summary
  4. quotes with discussion of their significance
  5. notes about where reading might be useful
  6. miscellaneous stuff.

A simple list of items would sort of work, but would not be ideal for adding discussion to the quotes. Ideally these annotations and comments would be graphically distinct from the imported quote, and in the best of all possible worlds would be set off from the quote on the note page.

Also, I’m not sure how I go about creating a set of links to all the files that discuss a single theme or topic. (For instance, how do I create a homepage for all the files related to slave narratives.)

I suspect there are a great many other academics who already have a system like this in place. I would appreciate any thoughts you could share and would doubly appreciate seeing some screen-captures of how you have structured your database.

Thanks for your time,

~A

You might take a look at my example database, “Example Database - Associating Notes.dtBase2 08-12-18.zip” at homepage.mac.com/WebObjects/File … US&lang=en

Although your workflows probably are different, you might be able to adapt some approaches.

Bill,

Thanks for the suggestion. It looks useful.

Are you aware of any screencasts, other than those in Devon Academy that would walk me through DTOP 2.0?

Thanks,

~A