Would it make sense to integrate LanguageTool?

Hello,

LanguageTool is an open-source grammar, style and spell checker. I’ve been using it for several months and love it.

I want to make a tentative feature request of integrating LanguageTool’s free public API into DEVONthink, so that users can take advantage of its tool set when writing inside DT.

Thanks in advance for evaluating my request! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Have you tried using the Mac app they offer?

Yes, and it certainly does a great job of checking grammar, as advertised. But personally I prefer using LanguageTool in the form of integration with other apps rather than its standalone Mac app, because the integrations simply blend in seamlessly into the existing workflow while using the app is an extra layer of friction (i.e. it’s not a great text editor).

Apart from the official LanguageTool apps and add-ons on their website, there are also Ulysses (link, paid API), Obsidian (link, free API) and VS Code (link, free API) integrations that I use. It’s easier to open and edit plaintext and Markdown files from DT in VS Code (⌘⇧O), and I figured maybe it could make sense, business- and development-wise, for DT to integrate with LanguageTool so that it’s even easier.

The request is noted but no promises, of course.

2 Likes

Of course. Thanks, Jim! :smiley:

I just wanted to make the same suggestion. Ullyssess uses Language Tool and its foundation is open source. The Mac app does not open .md files unfortunately.

There is government funding behind this project and with the open source foundation and API, it may be something more attractive than Grammarly:

https://languagetool.org/dev

The request is noted. However, implementation isn’t simple just because there’s an API, open-source or not. This adds to development as well as support when there’s a problem.

PS: Notice this…