Your experiences & recommendations using WebDAV as a sync store?

I’d like to switch from my current use of Dropbox as a sync store to a WebDAV server. Can people share their experiences about what has worked for them, what not to do, and particular configurations (e.g., specific WebDAV software packages or services) that did or did not work for them? Also, have you encountered any limitations with respect to storage, bandwidth, sync speed, reliability (especially sync’ing large databases), or otherwise?

More context: I have roughly 55 GB of DEVONthink databases, I use an iMac, a MacBook Pro, an iPad and an iPhone. I plan on setting up my own server, though I’m still eyeing a cloud offering to save time. I’m a software developer with experience across the full stack, so please feel free to get technical!

Have you read through the various threads on WebDAV experiences posted here in the last few weeks?

Thanks for your reply. Yes, I’ve been reading them. Often people reply with comments such as “I switched to using X and have been happy ever since”, which is useful, but my hope is that people will share more specific details if encouraged by this question. Also, IMHO, collecting information into a single discussion thread would be useful now and in the future.

Do you actually need remote syncing?

1 Like

Do you actually need remote syncing?