Am in state of confusion: images missing in DT RTF document after opening with ext editor, but present if copy paste

Hello,
I am new to DevonThink Pro 3.
I went through the following steps:
Data → New → Rich Text to create a new note.
I then opened the note with Data → open with → Nisus Writer Pro → wrote a document containing both text and images → Save in Nisus → close → return to DT. The text is there but the images are missing. If I reopen the doc Data → open with → Nisus Writer Pro , the images are there.
If I copy paste the contents of the Nisus RTF document and paste into a new DT RTF note, I can see the images.
thank you very much

Do you see the images if you open the original document in TextEdit? Or perhaps repeat your same process, and instead use TextEdit as the external editor to see if the issue might be with Nisus.

1 Like

If I go through the same procedure (text + images) with textedit, the same things happen: text + images in textedit but text only in DT.
2 possibilities come to mind (but I know nothing)

• should I be using some kind of preview mode display in DT ?
  • when I add the image in textedit, I get a warning that the file is automatically converted from RTF to RTFD (= RTF + images). I looked at the selection of Data → New in DT and don’t see any option to create a new RTFD document which may well be the solution.
    thanks very much for taking the time and effort to consider my problem.

From the documentation:

WHY DOES DEVONTHINK NOT DISPLAY MY DOCUMENT CORRECTLY?