An academic workflow in DT: note-taking, references/bibliographies, and knowledge organization

Hello members of the DT community,

I’m new to the forum, but not to the software, which I used to write my dissertation in the past year and a half. I greatly benefited from this community, silently reading other users’ posts, questions, and comments, and I now want to give back sharing my academic research workflow :relaxed:.
I am a researcher in the field of ancient history, so I have some particular needs (I often deal with dead languages), but as others researchers I mainly read and annotate papers, take notes, link pieces of knowledge, organize them, and write. I discovered DT Pro Office after learning about Luhmann’s Zettelkasten: I started using it to organize my research while writing my dissertation and I will probably stick with it for the rest of my life. I am now on DT3, and could not be any happier with the new update. I am a paper enthusiast, but I also must acknowledge the fact that my life routines (commuting, moving between libraries, etc.) do not get along well with paper support. I thus went 90% digital: most of my research is on my computer.

There are several different pieces of software that I somehow integrated with DT and I use in my workflow: I am going to list them below, along with a description of how I use them.

First comes the reference management software. I tried almost all free(mium) reference management softwares (Mendeley, Paper, Bookends, JabRef, BibDesk), and Zotero has been my final choice mainly for two reasons: plugins and the community, which is very active. I add my references to Zotero, using ZotFile to rename them, and BetterBibTeX to produce customized citation-keys. As all of you know, DT integrates with Bookends but I still prefer Zotero’s flexibility and the possibility to also share my group libraries online (mainly for didactic purpose). Furthermore, Zotero goes well with other two tools I massively use: Atom and pandoc.