Can't sync DTTG with DEVONThink Pro on my Mac

Hi,

I’m new to DEVONThink and run DTP on my Mac. I just purchased and installed DTTG on my iPhone but can’t seem to figure out how to open my DTP database (where I have all my notes) on my iPhone.

When I launch DTTG on my iPhone, I see no place where it asks me to sign in or identify who I am – so I’m stuck trying to figure out how would DTTG on my phone even know where to look?

DTP on my Mac has iCloud (CloudKit) sync active, but DTTG on my phone doesn’t find that database.

This is all I see when I look at the sync settings on my phone.

I’m probably going about this the wrong way being new to DEVONThink so would appreciate any help at all.

Thanks.

Welcome to DEVONthink and the Forum.

Perhaps start by reading the chapters on setting up Sync in the “DEVONthink Manual” for the Max and “DEVONthink To Go Manual” for the iOS device. No need to repeat all that here.

Also see other posts here about using Apple’s Sync services. Unreliable for some.

Perhaps second step would be to get Bonjour sync going and after that do an internet sync setup if in fact you need it. You might not after seeing the speed and reliability of Bonjour syncing.

1 Like

I second the welcome and will add to @rmschne’s sage comments, start with this forum post…

1 Like

I’ll try to give an answer more specifically to what the OP asked. If you want to sync with iCloud (CloudKit), please press on the corresponding green + button shown in the screenshot to activate it on iPhone. The databases will become visible in a later step.

I assume the identification “who you are” is done by CloudKit via your AppleID. So if you are signed in on your Mac and on your iPhone with the same AppleID you don’t have to worry about that.

2 Likes

First of all, they should determine if they need remote sync. If not, bonjour might be better.
If remote sync is required, iCloud might not be the best solution.
In any case: learn and think first, press button later.