DevonThink Pro 2... release date?

In a world populated by software releases retarded (Leopard, iLife 07) and known vaporwares, it would be nice to have an idea of the release of one of my most waited updates in Mac OS X software : DevonThink Pro.

Is it going to be ready in 2007? in the second quarter, the third, the fourth?

I ask it just by curiosity, and because I’m waiting hardly for that “transparent” architecture of 2.0 stated by some of the forum participants: the fact that DT2 is not longer going to “hide” it’s library inside the DT file, but instead it would use the same Finder structure -aka separate the database file from the resources library, as iTunes or iPhoto.

I’m waiting also for a refined user interface. I’m a researcher and a designer, so I appreciate a lot the core features of DT, but I really don’t like some of the icons and buttons, and I think that the 6 view interface is clumsy. As a design opinion, I think you should obtain inspiration from Apple’s pro applications, like Aperture. That way you are in the right middle of style and functionality, as Aperture interface is based in grey and black, is very neutral and it concedes the user attention to the content.

Thanks a lot and congratulations for your great work.

Apple’s postponement of Leopard to October, 2007 will likely delay version 2.0 to late 2007 or early 2008.

I’ve got Aperture and I like it.

But people who live by Mac OS X consistency would be appalled by Aperture (and the other Apple Pro apps) as the UI is very un-Mac-like. If I wish to display an image full-screen, I press “F”. To zoom the image, press "Z’. And press those keys again to toggle to the previous state.

I’m reminded of a remark by David Pogue. Pogue praises UI consistency, except when an inconsistent approach is really more intelligent and should trump consistency.