Help with RSS, archives and workflow... please...

I am new to the Devon suite of programs, but have jumped in with both feet. I am trying to duplicate some Google Alerts functionality using the enhanced search capabilities of DA. Essentially, I have a series of six predefined searches that Google runs and presents each searches results as an RSS feed which I read in Reeder.

I have set up a search set in DA for each of the searches I want to run, but the RSS feature doesn’t make sense to me. I finally figured out where it was putting the RSS file (Documents/DevonAgent RSS/ folder for those still looking). However, it appears to add a new RSS file each time it runs the search. Plus, Reeder doesn’t seem to like the file DA outputs and won’t open it. What program opens this file and how do I use it? It would seem to be more logical that DA would create a RSS file for each search set and then append that file each time the search is run. That way, I could keep track of what results I have read and which are still left to be read.

Can someone please help me with some best practices on how to use the outputted RSS file? I can feel in my bones that there is a tremendous potential here, but I haven’t found the solution yet.

Thanks in advance,
Brad

The next release will include this enhanced script:

on results(theResults, theSet, theQuery)
	tell application "DEVONagent"
		try
			set pathToAdditions to ((path to application id "com.devon-technologies.agent" as string) & "Contents:Resources:Script Additions.scpt") as alias
			set helperLibrary to load script pathToAdditions

set this_RSS to "<?xml version=\"1.0\" encoding=\"UTF-8\"?><rss version=\"2.0\"><channel><title>" & helperLibrary's convertText2XML(theQuery) & "</title><generator>DEVONagent 3</generator>"

repeat with theResult in theResults