I'm new to Document Management

Hello,

I just discovered the world of Document Management and am excited to get organized. What tips do you have for someone who is new and best-recommended workflows? Any affordable entry-level scanners? I would like to use a Brother but I would like to hear your recommendations. The use case for this is home organization.

Also, on the trial version, how come I don’t see a scan from scanner option?

Welcome @MSC

I’d suggest you start in the Help > Documentation > Getting Started section to get your feet wet.
You can breeze through the Tasks and Documents chapters, then start to get your legs under you in the In & Out chapter. The rest of the documentation goes into more specifics about what you’re looking at, menus, preferences, etc. then the deep dive in the Appendix.

As far as scanners go, if I scanner will work with Apple’s Image Capture software and your current operating system, it should work when scanning in the Pro or Server editions of DEVONthink.

Also, on the trial version, how come I don’t see a scan from scanner option?

What option are you referring to?
Scanning in DEVONthink is done in the View > Import Sidebar.

Ah, got it! Thank you, any other tips?

You’re welcome.

The documentation and these forums and our blog are full of tips, so it would depend on what you’re specifically after. If you read through the Getting Started chapter, that should give you plenty of info to get going.

1 Like

Thank you!

My pleasure! :slight_smile:

So after doing some research, I was not able to find this answer. How can I scan from the scanner and have it automatically load in the application?

How did you try to do it? What didn’t happen? What did happen? Any error messages? Did not @bluefrog’s suggestion (above) work? What kind of scanner and how connected (WiFi, USB, etc.)