Migration from Mariner Paperless to Devonthink

Dear All,

I am evaluating to switch from Mariner Paperless to Devonthink.

As I have been using Mariner Paperless for several years, data migration is a big issue for me.

Is there a possibility to import my mariner paperless database into Devonthink or some other way of data migration?

Thx + Best Regards

Thomas

Sorry, but Mariner has not made data migration to other apps a priority. There is no direct import of Paperless data and youā€™d have to check with Mariner regarding export options.

If you want to get access to Paperless records in order to move to DT, it is possible. Warning ā€“ I am a true amateur when it comes to doing thisā€¦
Process involves getting inside the ā€œpackageā€ of paperless library. Iā€™d do a backup first just in caseā€¦

Find your xxx.paperless file in finder an right click, use ā€œshow package contentsā€ option and then open the ā€œDocumentsā€ folder ā€“ there you should find a folder for each year, and each contains subfolders for each month, with each containing subfolders for each day for you entries. I make copy of the Documents folder and import from the copy into DT.

Each file extracted this way retains its Paperless titles, although each pdf does carry the relevant date (e.g., 78BD8D68-AA84-4E68-AF5F-2 - 12-2-17.pdf). I guess there are ways to use DT to deal with that problem once they are imported.

Hope that helpsā€¦

I am also attempting to make the ā€˜jumpā€™ from Mariner Paperless to Devonthink. 2020-12-23T13:00:00Z

Iā€™ve just about ā€˜had itā€™ with Mariner Paperless. As good as it is for a lot of things, I find there are so many problems with it, Iā€™m just ā€˜overā€™ it.
But as with anything that Iā€™ve invested a LOT of time and effort in creating, Iā€™m both hesitant and confused about ā€˜howā€™ to make the change.