Move Sync store from Dropbox to local server

I have my Sync store on Dropbox and databases on two Macs. My question is can I move the Sync store from Dropbox to a local computer without having to re-upload my data? I’d like to click “New Local Sync Store” in the Sync preferences and point it to the new location on a local server and have it “see” the data is already there because I downloaded it from Dropbox and copied it to the local computer. Is this possible and if not how do I go about moving the Sync storage without copying a few GB worth of data. I hope I’m using the correct terminology. I’m new to DEVONthink Pro Office.

Thanks for any tips.
Paul

Yes, that should be possible. The .dtCloud packages are the same, regardless on which service they’re hosted.

Thanks, I’ll give it a try.

I need some advice on locating my local sync store.

I have had DTPO on my system for several years now and have started and stopped using it over that period. I have now committed to go 100% with DT and realize that I need to be in DTPO full time to learn to use it effectively.

This thread is helpful because I have found the concepts of syncing to be a bit obscure. I have had my sync store on Dropbox but am now moving away from Dropbox. I switched to using a local sync store. I decided to use direct syncing and, after reading a post on this board, decided to put my local sync store in ~Documents on my MBP, having forgotten that with the latest iOS and High Sierra OSes, that folder is now on iCloud Drive. So far, having the local sync on iCloud drive does not seem to have caused problems, but backing up to iCloud Drive is slow. Also, based on what I have read here, I think I should move the sync to a local folder on the MBP to avoid potential problems. Am I correct in thinking I can create a new local sync store, move the existing store from the iCloud Drive documents folder to a folder only local on the MBP, and then sync to that store going forward? Any cautions?