Newbie Q - why does DT3 create multiple files for an imported Evernote note?

Disclaimer: Newbie here. I’m still learning, testing, reading the help documentation, and reading Taking Control of Devonthink.

I am testing a full migration away from Evernote to DT3.

The DT3 Import-from-Evernote requires an installed Evernote Legacy client (I have this working, though :grimacing: as Legacy is end of life)

My Q is – I have thousands of Notes in Evernote. Many of the notes have embedded images or PDFs.

When I import them into DT3, it creates multiple entries per note.

1. one entry for the Note
  2. a subfolder with the same name as the note
  3. that subfolder then contains one file for each embedded or PDF, AND ALSO a link back to the note

As a result,

a. my List is cluttered. Before I had one item. Now I have 1) an item, 2) a subfolder, 3) contents of that subfolder, with links back to the item. Viewing/using the list is encumbered by all the extra.

b. my List is not sorted. the List groups subfolders up top, before items. So in the list, an item’s subfolder appears far away from the item itself.

Q: Any DT3 pro tips on how to approach this issue?

e.g. is there a way to hide the subfolders, but still have the note items display in their entirety?

Do I just have to deal with multiple files per note in DT3?

Many thanks in advance for any and all support :pray:t2:

There were several discussions here on migration from EN to DT. Did you read those?

As to your question: what would you expect DT to do with a EN note containing several PDFs, instead of saving the PDFs separately? If you don’t want that, maybe DT is not the right tool – it takes care not to lump stuff together in containers so that your original data remains intact and accessible even if/when DT goes away.

The technical term here is “group”, btw, not “subfolder”. Groups are a virtual thing with no representation in the file system, while folders are part of the file system.