Please help a noob: How do you tell when a wikilink exists?

I’m new to DT and have already logged a lot of hours trying to get the lay of the land. Lots to love so far. One thing I have made frustratingly little progress on how you can visually tell if any given file is wikilinked to other files. I have tried using the aliases field in the info window, I am not able to see any indication that any sort of link has been formed to the file indicated.

Actually just a link to any documentation on how to use wikilinks (alias field) would be great. I haven’t been able to find much.

Thanks in advance for any help

So far I have not found a visual marker to tell that a file has been linked to. Then, a wiki-link is not a normal link: When you write the filename in any text file, it can be transformed automatically to a wikilink. So, if you have one (not two!) textfile called “journal”, the word “journal” in any text will be transformed into a link.

While there is a marker if you have replicants or dublicates of a file, even in the information panel there is no information about how often a file is linked. This would be a useful feature, no doubt, since it would help finding relationships. but you can still use the “see also” function on a particular word to see the connections.

If you want more control over your links, there is a fast way to create links by hand:

When you drag any file into a rtf-text while pressing COMMAND+OPTION, devon creates a link to the file in your text. You can even edit the link text afterwards. I use it for creating an index of my favorite files for different topics (the index file is always open).

This method also works with several files, and with files in the finder. You can link to a folder for quick access, for example. However, when the file is moved or deleted in the finder, your link will not work.