Suggestions for annotations between DT, Bookends and Obsidian

I have recently installed DT, and I anticipate that I am a novice. Nevertheless, I am trying to make it the central hub of my research apparatus, which currently consists of Bookends as a reference manager and Obsidian for taking notes in markdown. Both Bookends’ folder of attachments and Obsidian’s notes are already indexed in DT, but I lack to devise a solid and smooth workflow.

The first thing is to switch back and forth between DT’s indexed pdfs and Bookends’ references, hardlinking them. I have read about some scripts that allow to create links in the “user20” field in Bookends, and on the other hand in the finder comments of the DT file. Just this would be very useful for me, especially if it is possible to create a smart rule that does this in an automated way every so often, independently searching for files. Unfortunately, I have no scripting experience and wouldn’t know where to start, not even where they should be put to make them appear in DT.

The other issue, perhaps more tricky, is to understand (and discuss with you) what the best practices are for taking annotations on files.

If anyone is familiar with Bookends they will know that in addition to highlighting pdfs you can make annotations in the “notes” section, handling them as plain text (not markdown) or as “notecards.” However, I would not know how to index these pieces within DT.