"Summarizes Highlights" don't work properly on pdfs

Hi there,

I’m pretty new with DT Pro (attempting to switch from Evernote) and still finding my way around.

However I find this “Summarizes Highlights” as very useful, potentially, but it seems it’s not working as I would expect.
This is what I do:

1. I print an email from gmail (Save as pdf)

2. I read and highlight in DT

3. I do “Summarizes Highlights” - I tried all three (sheet, rich text, md) but some letters are missing which makes the summary not useful

4. However if I do OCR on the pdf and then do “Summarizes Highlights” then it’s fine.

Question: is there a way to skip 4. and still have useful highlights ?

Thanks
Cheers

Welcome @Abdt

Using the web interface of Gmail isn’t the same as using an email client. The file coming out of the browser does not appear to have a proper text layer.

We strongly suggest using a proper email client. Apple Mail is the best of breed for inter-application communication.

1 Like

Ahem……MailMate

Mailmate is a great app but certainly (1) the UI and experience are not for the faint of heart, and (2) its abilities in inter-application communication are not for the uninitiated.

Apple Mail is a simple and straight forward UI and we have an Apple Mail plugin that works with it specifically.

Very good points, sir. I just have never thought of Apple Mail as best at anything- let alone “best of breed” :grinning:

1 Like

I’d suggest taking a second look then. It’s not perfect (but what app is?), but it’s still a solid performer.

• Flashy? Nope.
  • Trying to be something it’s not? Nope.
  • A good, reliable email client that plays well in the Mac ecosystem natively? Absolutely. :slight_smile:
1 Like

May I add that since its inception this program is not able to manage IMAP subscriptions (though there’s even a dialog for them ;-). On the plus side, I seem to remember support for S/MIME signing/encryption. Which is probably even more esoteric than IMAP subscriptions :wink: