Task Lists W/ Checkboxes

I am brand spanking new to DEVONthink coming from the Evernote brand and I already very fond of this product. It’s versatility is unquestioned.

However I am still learning an still trying to figure out the workflow for what I do.

I use Omnifocus which seems to work great with DT for linking research materials with actual tasks. If I find a web article that I want to blog about, I can save it to DT from Pocket or Feedly and then send it to Omnifocus as an actionable item.

But sometimes I need to do checklists which I dislike to do in Omnifocus. My checklists are often a ‘Template’ used over and over again.

So my question is this:

Is there a way to create a checklist (one in which I can tick off items as they are needed) in DT? Then I can simply create a task in Omnifocus, linking to DT? I have tried and searched and I have not found the answer. It looks like this question was posed and requested a half-decade ago but without resolution.

Thanks for your time!

Welcome.

No. There’s no template for a checklist, and checklists are not easy with the document types that DEVONthink can edit (RTF, Markdown, Formatted Note, Plain Text, CSV / Sheets). Not impossible, just not easy. I believe most people will link document in DEVONthink to OF actions. Fastest way to do this is to copy the item link from DEVONthink with Edit > Copy Item link, then create an OF action with the OF quick entry dialog and paste the item link into the text area of that action.

There are lots of other workflow suggestions for integrating OF and DEVONthink – here, at the OF forum, and all over the blogosphere.

I suggest tracking task completion in one place, not two. I.e., check off completion in OF not DEVONthink.

I understand where you are coming from, but to me checklists are normally too fine-grained to be put as separate tasks into OF; they would drown out the real tasks I would have to accomplish on a given day.