The difference between syncing via legacy and cloudkit

Hello! What is the difference between syncing via legary and cloudkit, and is cloudkit syncing much better?
Sorry, I have no knowledge of computers. :grimacing:

I have update to DTTG3.0 and DTP3.6.2

If you didn’t use iCloud sync locations so far (now called “iCloud (Legacy)”), then the new “iCloud (CloudKit)” sync locations are definitely recommended. They’re faster, synchronous and don’t require as much CPU time.

Oh! Thank you for your amazing update work. :partying_face:
A question: if I have my old DT data on iCloud cloud, but I haven’t used iCloud sync for a long time, and now I have many new files added to Devonthink on my computer. I now want to delete the data on iCloud and replace them completely with my current computer side data. What is the correct and safe way to do this?
Thank you very much. :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

Just clean the iCloud (Legacy) sync location by Control-clicking it and choosing Clean Location.
Also disable the legacy location on other Macs or in DEVONthink To Go before cleaning on the Mac.

3 Likes

Does CloudKit also use temp files on the drive, or is it now able to do without it? It was filling my drive like crazy.

The CloudKit sync is a single-stage sync writing directly to Apple’s server, similar to Dropbox.

1 Like

What does clean location do? Didn’t get any feedback message after doing it.

After that, I can remove location (legacy)? Do I then go to iCloud to delete any DB/files?

Cheers

Always check Window > Log or the Log popover in the toolbar. You’ll also see the database is unchecked and the message under the database’s name notes the database hasn’t synced. And yes you could delete the legacy location, if you choose to.

1 Like

Cheers.

@BLUEFROG Is there a way to see if we did the right order of disable/clean/remove on the Legacy iCloud parts? I think I did, but I’d like to validate I don’t have orphaned files taking up space in iCloud.