Using Devonthink for writing (academic) books and long reads: a good idea?

Hi DT-community,

I have a general question with regard to use Devonthink for longer writing. I explain myself a bit.

I discovered Devonthink rather accidently through Devonthink for Historians (which I can recommend highly to people for who DT is something new - as it was for me) and since then by reading & browsing this excellent forum. In a short time I became a huge fan and finding myself doing a lot of my computer-based professional and personal activities in Devonthink. What I do like most on DT, is that it’s all in one single place: everything is stored, viewable and can be annotated, reworked or exported in DT. It has become my Finder AND all the apps I needed to open and work on my Finder-documents. It has simplified my (work) life in a great way.

Still, one thing I haven’t figured out. I work in the field of modern history, Devonthink handles & organizes my research perfectly, but I still don’t know about writing longer articles and books in DT, instead of the dedicated writing apps I’m used to (Scrivener/Ulysses). It seems to have the huge advantage of having everything in the same place - my research and my writing - but I would like to hear some experiences from other members, before replacing my writing apps by DT. Has anyone used DT to write manuscripts > 100.000 words? Can you add footnotes & references in DT easily (I use Bookends as a reference manager)?

Underlying is this thought: I read a lot of threads about how to combine DT with reference managers and writing apps, with sometimes very complex workflows or scripts :slight_smile: I’m heading more towards simplifying, and integrating writing (and maybe at one time even reference managing) into DT.

Thank you!

Ruben

@ruben,

You can easily, if you wish, (continue to) use the likes of (the excellent) Scrivener for the kind of longer mss you need.