Widgets. Any plans?

Are there any plans to include support for widgets. I can’t see it is supported in Sonoma, or iOS.?

3 Likes

No, there are no current plans for widgets.

What kind of widgets do you have in mind? We actually supported Dashboard a long time ago but in the end that was a waste of time to be honest. And of course there’s the Sorter which can handle most of the typical widget tasks via its menu extra or tab.

It is the primary feature of Sonoma.There are a myriad of use cases. It needs a little bit of imagination.Some examples of the top of my head.

List of reading list items.
List of items in Inbox.
List of metadata attributes for examples particular labels, or important items.
List of due items.

You could imagine having a configurable setting where you could change it to whatever you wish for your productivity.

Clearly as developers this is your decision. I am not a programer so maybe dont appreciate the complexities involved. However…to be honest I am somewhat disappointed that you wont be supporting widgets.

1 Like

You can use Alfred + this: mpco/AlfredWorkflow-DEVONthink-Search: Powerful Tool for Searching in DEVONthink. (github.com)

And can do most of the widgets can do, faster and better. There are some messages here about that.

3 Likes

Would be great on DTTG.

1 Like

Great in what way? Again, examples would be useful.

Would love to see this size widget with 4 or 8 “buttons” to click. (Sorry skipped the photo for privacy reasons to just show the top).

Many people use an inbox, daily note, reading list, recent projects etc. While much of this is possible (aka take a devonthink url and then make a shortcut to “open url” to my inbox note) some of these options are unlikely to be setup by most users. I would assume some of this setup might need to include more standardized locations such as global inbox, and if daily notes would be included maybe they would default to a standard folder.