New and totally confused by the editor. Used to Evernote and Bear

I am new to DTP today. I am very familiar with Evernote and Bear, have written many keyboard maestro macros and used AppleScript with both of them.
I am embarrassed to ask a basic question.
In Evernote (15,000 + notes) and Bear, I often write notes which include styled text, a hierarchy of headers, insert images, lists which allow me to move items up and down.
In DTP, if I create a document, I find myself in a basic text only editor with none of the features above.
In the settings → media, I chose edit → Markdown (I am used to Markdown which Bear uses), but as far as I can see, when I create a new note, there is nothing resembling a Markdown editor
Usually, there are options to work in RTF, but I don’t see that either.
There must be something that I am missing.
thanks in advance for your time and help

1 Like

See Markdown Toolbar

1 Like

Welcome @rufus123

Usually, there are options to work in RTF, but I don’t see that either.

Hybrid Markdown editors are not standard. Markdown is plain text, hence you are seeing a plain text editing pane. You can use View > Document Display to change the view of Markdown files.

Also, DEVONthink uses MultiMarkdown. Check out the Help > Documentation > Documents > Markdown for more information on the subject.

2 Likes

thank you

thanks

You’re welcome :slight_smile:

1 Like

And go to Data/New and you can choose Rich Text (among other options).

There is also a “New” icon on the toolbar that offers this choice.

1 Like

thank you.
RTF best option for me with Nisus Writer Pro as an external app.
I am used to Markdown with Bear app which allows me to easily insert images (copy paste) which does not seem to be the case with DT Markdown.
Does this make sense ?